View count: 7726

Mission Statement

Mission Statement


  Established in 2013, the Center for Buddhist Studies at Fo Guang University supports scholarly research in Buddhist studies, headed by a Director to coordinate the planning and activities of the research center. This center will provide an academic platform for Buddhist studies research, a location to gather together scholars of Chinese Buddhism, in particular the development of young Buddhist studies scholars. The direction of development takes the spirit of Humanistic Buddhism to research Chinese Buddhism and its literature, critically continuing traditional thought to creatively develop modern interpretations, thus allowing the wisdom and compassion of Buddhism to engage in a dialogue with modern trends of thought, opening up new Buddhism thinking and theories.
 

Programs


1.Sponsoring Interdisciplinary Research and Projects
Sponsoring interdisciplinary research and projects on topics including the Vimalakīrtinirdeśa, Humanistic Buddhism, and currently a project on East Asian Buddhism during the 16th to 19th centuries.

2.International Conferences
International conferences on topics related to the above research projects, such as the Vimalakīrtinirdeśa conferences (2014–2016) and East Asian Buddhism during the 16th to 19th centuries (from 2017).

3. 
Fo Guang Journal of Buddhist Studies:
Bi-annual publication of the Fo Guang Journal of Buddhist Studies, since 2015. The Journal has published articles from well-established scholars throughout the world in Chinese, Japanese, and English.

4.Workshops
Workshops to give graduate students and junior scholars an opportunity to deepen their knowledge of Buddhist studies from varying perspectives, run by invited scholars and visiting researchers from Taiwan, Japan, China, North America and Europe.

5. Special Collections
The Center holds several special collections, including Sui and Tang Buddhist manuscripts from the Seigozō 聖語藏 collection in Japan, reprints of Dunhuang manuscripts, the first edition of the Tripitaka Koreana, the Tibetan Buddhist Canon published in Ulaanbaatar, and rare Ming and Qing Buddhist texts not found in existing canons.

6.Promoting research on Humanistic Buddhism
Promoting research on Humanistic Buddhism. Venerable Master Hsing Yun is recognized as having put into practice the ideals of Humanistic Buddhism. In addition, Humanistic Buddhism represents mainstream Buddhism in Taiwan and is becoming increasingly influential in China and throughout the world. The Center will continue to support applied research on Humanistic Buddhism.

7.
Sponsor Translations and Publications
In the future, the Center plans to sponsor translations and publications of Chinese Buddhist canonical texts and contemporary Buddhist scholarship.

 編

瀏覽人次: 1678

宗旨與發展方向


宗旨

        佛教研究中心成立於2013年,組織上是佛光大學的校級單位,設主任一人,統籌研究中心的運作與規劃。此中心將為佛教研究提供一個學術平台,匯集全球漢傳佛教研究人才的基地。尤其重視青年研究人才的培養。發展方向,以人間佛教的精神,研究漢傳佛教及其經典,批判地繼承傳統思想,創造地發展現代詮釋,讓佛教的智慧慈悲,與當代的思潮對話,開創出新的佛教思惟與論述。
 

發展方向

(一)支持與佛教相關的研究計畫:
        如「維摩經與東亞文化」、跨領域之研究計畫和「近世東亞佛教文獻和研究」計畫。。
       
(二)舉辦國際學術研討會:
        如「維摩經與東亞文化」國際研討會(2014-2016年)和「近世東亞佛教文獻和研究」國際研討會(2017年–2020年)。
 
(三)佛光學報Fo Guang Journal of Buddhist Studiess:
        自2015年起發行一年二期的《佛光學報》,至今已刊登數期重要之學術研究成果。
 
(四)舉辦工作坊和演講:
        廣邀來自台灣、日本、韓國、中國和歐美之重要學者和訪問研究員進行講學或演講,目的在於培養青年學者以更開闊與多元視野從事佛學研究。
        
(五)珍貴文獻:
        本中心所藏之珍貴文獻包含日本正倉院所藏《聖語藏》之隋唐寫經、日本杏雨書屋藏《敦煌秘笈》、《高麗大藏經》初雕本、烏蘭巴托甘珠爾藏文寫本和明清佛教藏外稀見文獻。
 
(六)推展人間佛教之研究:
        星雲大師所倡導及致力實踐的人間佛教,在台灣已經蔚為主流,其影響力逐漸擴及中國大陸乃至全球五大洲。本中心將以漢傳佛教之基礎研究與研究基礎,建構人間佛教之主體論述,並持續推展人間佛教之各項應用研究。
 
(七)鼓勵翻譯與出版:
        鼓勵漢語佛典與漢傳佛教現代論著的翻譯及出版。